Clicky

What the Maybelline Mineral Power Foundation looks like
More Images
Price US $6-$9
Origin Made in USA

Maybelline Mineral Power Powder Foundation Review

Our Rating
6.5
Good: Has micro-minerals, is naturally perfecting and has long term effects on skin.
Bad: Not too many shades to choose from.
User Score
9.0
(3 votes)
Rate this product
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 9.0/10 (3 votes cast)

  • The Maybelline Mineral Power Foundation has 100% natural minerals (micro-minerals) that have long term effects on the skin.
  • Zinc Oxide, Polyethylene, Boron Nitride, Dimethicone, PTFE, Synthetic Wax, Acrylates Copolymer, Lauroyl Lysine, Cetyl Dimethicone, Aloe Barbadensis/Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Triisocetyl Citrate, Isopropyl Titanium Triisostearate, Tocopheryl Acetate, Panthenol, Chamomilla Recutita Extract/Matricaria Flower Extract. May Contain: Mica, CI 77891/Titanium Dioxide, CI 77163/Bismuth Oxychloride, CI 77499, CI 77492, CI 77491/Iron Oxides, CI 77007/Ultramarines..
  • Dip a fluffy brush into the cap. Tap the brush lightly to remove excess. Apply all over your face with a circular motion.
  • Available in most online shops and in local drug stores.

A preview of the Maybelline Mineral Power Powder Foundation

The Intro

It was about a year ago that I became interested with mineral make-up. Like everybody else, I wanted something that’s good for my skin and good for my pocket. I later on found out about the Maybelline Mineral Power Collection and thought that it was interesting enough to try. Hey, any cosmetic with the word “power” on it is worth a try so I ended up with the foundation.

Packaging

The packaging is like any other mineral make-up. It comes in a powder dispensing container. You would have to turn it upside down with the lid on, tap the back, turn it right side up and then open the lid. Swirl any type of fluffy brush you have on the lid to get just the right amount. The whole process didn’t really bother me but it could be inconvenient when you’re in a hurry.

This is how to get just the right amount of powder on the lid

Shade Choices

The Maybelline Mineral Power Powder Foundation only has 5 color shades to choose from, according to the Maybelline website:

Classic Ivory – Light 2

Nude – Light 4

Creamy Natural – Light 5

Pure Beige – Medium 2

Natural Ivory – Light 3

For others, this may be an upside as it narrows down your choices (Yeah, you know what I’m talking about >_<) but one key to natural looking foundation is the right color or shade choice. Personally, I’m somewhere between a light and a medium so I should have chosen Light 4 or Light 5. I bought Light 3 instead because it kind of looked like my shade but sadly, I was mistaken. It was too light!

I bought my "power powder" in Light 3

My Light 3 Maybelline Power Foundation Swatch

Free Kabuki Brush

Some packages could include a free brush!

The foundation I purchased came with a brush. It’s too bad because it does not feel good on the skin. It’s a bit stiff and rough when you use it to apply the foundation on. I tried washing it with hair conditioner hoping that it would somehow make it softer. It did the trick BUT it’s still not as soft as what I imagined it to be.

The price and it’s coverage

The Maybelline Mineral Power Powder Foundation has a good price despite it being a mineral make-up. You pay about $6-$9 for a product that can improve your overall skin condition, reduce redness and make your skin smoother. Not a bad deal!

The foundation has a light to medium coverage and feels very comfortable on the skin. It’s fantastic as a matte-efier. Too bad I bought the wrong shade. I don’t wear it now because the result is ghostly ( you know when you take pictures of yourself with make-up on and then see the pictures; And realize that your foundation is totally OFF!!!).

So…

I like the micro-minerals part most! I like that the price is reasonable for the benefits that the Maybelline Mineral Power Powder Foundation promises to deliver.

However, I do not like the brush that came with my package. I do not like that it only has a few shades to choose from and when you’re in a hurry, powder tends to get all over the place.

This is definitely one thing I don't like.

What do you think?

Comment below so we can talk about your experience with the Maybelline Mineral Power Powder Foundation.

Mea Pabiona

Mea Pabiona

My name is Mea, a MewBlogger. In make-up, I believe in letting your creativity flow through your fingers and in never being afraid of color.

Mea Pabiona

Latest posts by Mea Pabiona (see all)

Maybelline Mineral Power Powder Foundation Review, 9.0 out of 10 based on 3 ratings

4 Comments

  1. Sue Lin
    Sue Lin
    July 9, 2012, 9:57 am

    I love mineral foundations! They are so light-weight and fun to apply. Used to get foundation one or two shades lighter than my actual skin tone for powders that tend to oxidize. I looked like a ghost too! Finding the right can be a bit of a challenge, right Mea?

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 7.0/10 (1 vote cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    0 people found this helpful
    Was this review helpful?
    Yes
    No
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    0 people found this helpful
    Was this review helpful?
    Yes
    No
  2. Patricia Ramos
    Patricia Ramos
    July 11, 2012, 4:08 pm

    Not a fan of mineral foundations. I almost always need to use a primer just so it’ll stick, which is a no-no for me most days since I prefer light make-up.

    Goodluck finding your perfect foundation shade!

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    0 people found this helpful
    Was this review helpful?
    Yes
    No
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    0 people found this helpful
    Was this review helpful?
    Yes
    No
  3. Sidrah N.
    Sidrah N.
    July 13, 2012, 11:21 am

    I like Mineral Foundation a lot, they are perfect for my oil-prone skin! They give a good amount of coverage but I would want it to match my skin perfectly.

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    0 people found this helpful
    Was this review helpful?
    Yes
    No
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    0 people found this helpful
    Was this review helpful?
    Yes
    No
  4. Mea Pabiona
    Mea Pabiona
    July 13, 2012, 2:35 pm

    Thanks guys ^^ If only we can easily return make-up here in the Philippines…c’est la vie :)

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 5.0/10 (1 vote cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    0 people found this helpful
    Was this review helpful?
    Yes
    No
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    0 people found this helpful
    Was this review helpful?
    Yes
    No

Leave a Reply

Rate This Item